Advertisement Advertisement

TEPC appoints Shyamal Ghosh as Chairman and Sanjay Nayak as Co-Chairman




Telecom Equipment & Services Export Promotion Council (TEPC) has announced that Shyamal Ghosh, IAS, (Retd Chairman of Telecom Commission) has taken over as its new Chairman and Sanjay Nayak, CEO & MD, Tejas Networks, has been elected as Co-Chairman. TEPC has also elected its new Governing Council for the year 2017-18.


Shyamal Ghosh brings in a rich leadership experience of serving across many government departments in the ICT sector, including as Chairman of Telecom Commission and Secretary, Department of Telecommunications, Secretary, Department of Information Technology, Director General of Foreign Trade and he was also the first Administrator of the Universal Service Obligation Fund. He is credited with for initiating the formulation of the Information Technology Act, 2000 and took the early initiatives for conceptualization of the Information Super-Highway in India. During his tenure as Chairman, Telecom Commission, many major reforms in the Telecom Sector were initiated and implemented leading to the opening up of the Telecom Sector in India for private sector participation and the exponential growth of telecom penetration. TEPC will benefit from his deep understanding and rich experience in the telecom sector as well as foreign trade, as it pursues its mission of making India as a major exporter of telecom equipment and services.


Sanjay Nayak, is the MD & CEO, Tejas Networks, India’s leading R&D-driven optical and data networking company exporting to over 60 countries. Nayak has been a thought leader for the Electronics System Design and Manufacturing (ESDM) and has been involved in many industry and government committees for making India a global hub for R&D and Innovation-led ICT products. He was earlier the Vice-Chairman of TEPC and was involved in formulating the strategic vision for TEPC.